Skip to content

Coconut Flour Zucchini Bread

November 6, 2010

Toasted zucchini bread served with raw milk butter. Yep, Primals can have it - it's grain free!

Whenever I discuss the Primal diet with those unfamiliar with this style of eating, I inevitably hear “Oh, I could never give up bread, pasta, …(insert grain laden product here)!” Well, yes you can. You just have to want to! And it’s really not that difficult when we have delicious substitutes for all of your favorites. Coconut flour is a great replacement for wheat flour. It is high fiber and low in digestible carbs. It cannot be used interchangeably with wheat flours, as it requires more liquid in the recipe.

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like zucchini bread. Lucky for me, I have very generous patients that share the bounty of their gardens with us all summer long! Zucchini was plentiful this year. To make summer last a little longer, I stocked the freezer with shredded zucchini so I can make this recipe whenever the craving hits! For successful freezing, shred the zucchini and drain excess liquid before placing in freezer bags.

Coconut Flour Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 8 pastured eggs
  • 1/2 cup melted raw milk butter
  • 1 Tablespoon local honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice mix
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3/4 cup sifted coconut flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

What to do:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Prepare a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan. Butter all sides and then place a piece of parchment paper on the bottom and up the 2 long side of the pan. This step is a must to avoid leaving half the loaf in the pan when trying to remove the bread.

In a large mixing bowl, combine everything except the last 3 ingredients.

Sift together the coconut flour and the baking powder. Add it to the other ingredients and stir well. Make sure you don’t have any lumps. This might take a little muscle!

Stir in the walnuts.

Pour the batter into your prepared pan and bake for 55 to 60 minutes. Check for doneness with a toothpick inserted into the middle of the loaf. When it comes out clean, your bread is done.

Remove from the pan and cool.

Yield 8-10 slices.

Recipe adapted from Joyful Abode

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2012 10:06 am

    Wow!! You posted this recipe all the way back in 2010 and I found it only today!! Don’t know how I missed it all this time.

    Will try it asap – thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • August 13, 2012 9:27 pm

      Hope you like it. It’s one of my favorites! Not too sweet, but great flavor. Awesome toasted with some raw milk butter or coconut oil!

      Let me know what you think!

  2. August 14, 2012 11:17 pm

    Tonight i processed a bunch of giant mutant zucchini in my Vitamix and vacuum-sealed it. I’ve just bookmarked your recipe because we have enough zucchini in the freezer to feed a small army now!

  3. dennis permalink
    August 18, 2012 3:51 pm

    I am on the low fodmaps paleo plan. I started the paleo plan because I just wanted to improve my general health including my stomach and depression. The medications I take have been lessened but I’d like to get rid of them all if possible. FODMAPS may help do this. I switched walnuts for brazil nuts because thats all I got and we dont eat walnuts. I substituted 1:1 maple syrup instead of the honey. Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. 8 Paleo Zucchini Breads with No Grains or Sugar Used

Leave a Reply

