Skip to content

I Made Sushi!

February 3, 2012

So I made sushi for the first time tonight!  Pretty exciting stuff!  Alex and I don’t shy away from white rice.  We probably eat it a few times a month.  This sushi recipe came from Make It Paleo by The Food Lovers’ Primal Palate and it called for “cauliflower” rice.  Since I plan on serving rice tomorrow night, I decided to go with the cauliflower.  Included in this roll are: real crab, avocado, cucumber, cauliflower rice.  I served the rolls with pickled ginger and real wasabi.  Interestingly, the real wasabi didn’t seem as spicy as the fake stuff!

Not to shabby for a first effort, huh?

Homemade sushi!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Jocelyn holguin permalink
    February 4, 2012 8:55 am

    I am so impressed! Yummy! We love sushi but are afraid of making it at home. Love the idea of crab!

    • February 4, 2012 10:13 am

      It was actually pretty easy to put together. I’m not brave enough to do raw fish at home either, but no worries with the cooked crab! Thanks!

    • February 4, 2012 2:06 pm

      Don’t be afraid of making sushi at home. Just make sure you go to a really good fish place, like a Whole Foods. And before you buy it, ask them if they will let you smell the fish. If it smells “fishy,” don’t buy it. If it has almost no smell to it, then it should be fine.

      But if you’re worried about the fish not being fresh, you can always make sushi with cooked shrimp, smoked salmon, or just straight up veggies. I love making veggie sushi rolls with cucumber, avocado, red pepper and mango. Lots of color and healthy.

      All that being said, great job Marjorie! I’m impressed with how well you did on your first time trying it. It’s not an easy thing to master.

      • February 4, 2012 3:23 pm

        Thanks Jon! I was pretty excited about the results! Thanks for the tip about the fish too!

  2. February 4, 2012 9:10 pm

    If you could tell me in greater detail how you made the ‘rice’, I would appreciate. I make sushi at home all the time. Guests are so impressed, they ask, which restaurant did I order from!
    Watching for carb intake, so no sushi for me. However, your ‘rice’ really intrigued me! Would love to try!

    • February 4, 2012 9:37 pm

      I used a food processor to shred the cauliflower. Then melted about a Tablespoon of coconut oil in a frying pan and sauteed the cauliflower “rice” for about 7-8 minutes. Let it cool and make your sushi! To replace rice in other dishes, I have put the shredded cauliflower and a Tablespoon or two of water in a bowl covered with plastic wrap. Pop it in the microwave for 6-7 minutes to steam. A perfect low carb replacement for rice! Enjoy!

      • February 5, 2012 9:01 am

        Awesome, thank you so much! I will make it today.

      • February 5, 2012 12:45 pm

        No way, that works? It even looks like sushi rice. And it probably adds a different layer of flavor. I need to try that. Is it sticky like sticky rice?

  3. February 5, 2012 9:11 pm

    The cauliflower “rice” worked pretty well. Not as sticky as rice, but sauteing in the oil added a little stickiness. I had some nori leftover so I made more sushi today using rice. Alex stated that there wasn’t much flavor difference between the rice and cauliflower, especially once you add stronger flavors like ginger or wasabi. Great way to low carb it though!

  4. August 24, 2012 2:05 pm

    That looks great! And it wasn’t so difficult to make?

Trackbacks

  1. Paleo Village - Make it Paleo - Book Review - Food Lovers, Mark Sisson, Paleo, Paleo Comfort Foods, Paleo Cookbook, Paleo Kitchen, Sauces Dressings, Side Dishes, Treats Cheats - | Paleo Village
  2. Afraid of the sushi man. | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Leave a Reply

