Skip to content

Mustard and Herb Marinated Chicken Kebobs with Grilled Vegetables

May 31, 2011

Tender and juicy chicken pairs well with grilled vegetables!

It’s finally hot and sunny in Michigan.  Grill season has officially started!  I love grilled vegetables and am always looking for a new protein option to accompany them.  The marinade for the chicken kebobs was inspired by the Mustard Herb Marinade found in The Primal Blueprint Cookbook.  I wanted to use fresh herbs from my garden, so I changed up the recipe to make use of the herbs that were big enough to harvest.  As far as the vegetables go, use whatever you have or whatever looks good at the market.  Alex declared this the best marinade I have ever made and I agree!  So dust off that grill and get summer started!

Mustard and Herb Marinated Chicken Kebobs with Grilled Vegetables

Chicken Kebobs Ingredients:

  • 2 Tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut aminos (you can substitute gluten free soy sauce or tamari)
  • 1 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup tarragon, chopped fine
  • 1/4 cup basil, chopped fine
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 pounds chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes

What to do:

In a large bowl, whisk together the first nine ingredients (mustard through pepper).  Add the cubed chicken, and stir to coat all of the pieces.  Cover and place in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.  While the chicken is marinating, chop the vegetables as instructed below and soak the skewers (I use bamboo) in water to prevent scorching when on the grill.  Once the chicken has marinated, place the pieces on the skewers.  I ended up with five full kebobs.

Grilled Vegetable Skewers Ingredients:

  • 3 bell peppers (I used one red, one yellow, one orange), cut into 1-2 inch pieces
  • 1 large sweet onion, cut into 1-2 inch chunks
  • 1 large or 2 small zucchini, cut into 1 inch chunks
  • 8 ounce package of baby Portabella mushrooms
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

What to do:

Using the soaked skewers (as instructed above), thread the vegetables on in random order.  Brush the vegetables with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt and pepper.

Preheat the grill to medium-high.  Lightly oil the grill and place both the chicken and vegetables on the grill.  Let the kebobs cook until lightly browned on each side and the chicken is completely cooked through.

Serve immediately and enjoy!

Yield 4 servings.

Summer's here - Enjoy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Fisch permalink
    June 3, 2011 12:16 pm

    I made this for dinner last night. The best part is I had everything but the chicken and veggies on hand already (I used dried basil and tarragon). But it turned out great.

    • June 3, 2011 12:20 pm

      So glad you liked it!

      • Fisch permalink
        June 4, 2011 1:23 pm

        I forgot to mention the bad part. My grill isn’t that big, so I did the veggies first. I took them off the grill, brought them inside, put them in a bowl, set it on the counter, turned around to grab the chicken, and when I turned back, I bumped the bowl and all the veggies fell on the floor. So I couldn’t eat the veggies.

      • June 4, 2011 4:05 pm

        Awww! That’s awful. Try again – the grilled veggies are totally worth a do over.

Trackbacks

  1. Ann’s Grilled Peach Kabobs w/ Vanilla Fig Balsamic Vinegar | gourmetblends

Leave a comment